Vesta Williams

    Collection of Vesta Williams

    Though physically short, Vesta Williams possesses one of Urban Contemporary and R&B's biggest and brassiest voices. Her family moved from Ohio to Los Angeles in the '60s, as her father was a disc jockey. Williams and her sisters once appeared on the television show Jack and Jill as The Williams Sisters. She returned to Ohio in 1977 and sang in her cousin's band in Dayton, but soon went back to Los Angeles to launch a solo career. Former Fifth Dimension member Ron Townsend put Williams in his band Wild Honey, and she also did sessions and/or toured with Bobby Womack, Chaka Khan, the Commodores, Jermaine Jackson, Ray Parker, Jr., Anita Baker, Stephanie Mills, and several others. Williams sang on the original version of Joe Sample's "The Survivor," and met producer David Crawford while working with his group Klique. Crawford took her tapes to A&M, which signed her to a solo contract. She scored a Top Ten R&B hit with "Once Bitten Twice Shy" in 1986. During the '90s, she dropped The Williams from her performing name and recorded only as Vesta. Allmusic by Ron Wynn

    Album: Vesta (1986)

    01. Something About You
    02. Sweet Thang
    03. Don't Blow a Good Thing
    04. Get Out of My Life
    05. I Can Make Your Dreams Come True
    06. Suddenly It's Magic
    07. You Make Me Want to (Love Again)
    08. It's You
    09. Don't Let Me Down
    10. Once Bitten Twice Shy
    11. I'm Coming Back
    12. My Heart Is Yours

    Album: Vesta 4 U (1988)

    01. Here Say
    02. All On You
    03. 4 U
    04. Sweet, Sweet Love
    05. How You Feel
    06. Best I Ever Had
    07. Hunger
    08. Congratulations
    09. Running Into Memories
    10. Make It With You

    Album: Special (1991)

    01. Special
    02. I Don't Wanna Cry Anymore
    03. Person to Person
    04. Can't Get Enough of Your Love
    05. Where Does the Love Go
    06. Thank You for the Chance
    07. The Rib Joint
    08. TLC
    09. Do Ya
    10. Don't Trip
    11. Compassion
    12. I Promise Love

    Album: Everything-N-More (1993)

    01. I'll Give You My Love
    02. Over & Over
    03. So Good
    04. Now That I Have You
    05. Always
    06. Outstanding
    07. Tell Me
    08. Can't Let Go
    09. Stop Frontin'
    10. In Your Mind
    11. 4 the Love of U

    Album: Relationships (1998)

    01. Can You Feel Me
    02. Somebody For Me
    03. I'll Be Alright
    04. Like Today
    05. You And I
    06. I Have To
    07. For Old Time Sake
    08. You Still Do It
    09. Who
    10. Just Fine
    11. All Because I'm Free

    Album: Distant Lover (2007)

    01. Use Me
    02. Whip Appeal
    03. Distant Lover
    04. If You Want Me To Stay
    05. With You I'm Born Again
    06. Knock Me Off My Feet
    07. No Ordinary Love
    08. Free
    09. Ooh Baby Baby
    10. Could It Be I'm Falling In Love

    RIP Vesta Williams December 1, 1957 – September 22, 2011

    Source URL:
    Visit ALL SOUL AND FUNK for Daily Updated Hairstyles Collection